It’s been a long time, I shouldn’t have left you…

OMG! It’s been over 3 weeks since my last post… I use to think 4-5 days was a long time between posts. But, um I surely surpassed that.  One week led to another, which led to two more.   My formal apologies.  I have been quite the busy bee (no excuse), so I gave myself a social media vacation (perks of being the boss).   I feel refreshed, but so tragic because I feel like I am out of the loop.  So starting tomorrow, I will be back on my weekly Social Media grind.  Did I miss anything good?  I guess I will catch up on all the unread blog posts and articles.  So since I’ve been away, I’ve designed some promotional material and stationary for two nonprofit organizations in which I volunteer for and I styled my Mother’s 50th birthday party, photos to follow!  Coming up for me is a fashion show I hope to attend this Saturday 4/28/12 at Amici Miei Cafe in BPT, CT.  Stay tuned for that…  As it is Motivation Monday, here is a article that I read while catching up on what I missed.  It is actually an older post from a series on the site, I read through the past threads and found this one… As told by Claire, Edior-in-chief of http://www.fashionbombdaily.com on her notes from an event Harriette Cole spoke at…

How to Succeed: 5 Power Tips from Media Maven Harriette Cole

by Claire (of fashionbombdaily.com)
1. Be Specific About What You Want to Do. Harriette said, “Write down what you want. Put yourself in the space of what you want.” She encouraged everyone to put their goals in a prominent place so they can be reminded of them every day. As the popular phrase goes, if you don’t have a goal, you can’t score.
2. Have faith in yourself and your ability. It’s easy for us to doubt ourselves, but know you can do whatever you set your mind to. Harriette added, “Do your best work. Build good relationships. Trust who you are and the way you move through the world.”

3. If you’re not good at it, get good at it. Before Harriette was a fashion editor at Essence magazine, she took a job as a secretary on Capitol Hill. She said she always hated typing, but it was part of her job. She said, “ I eventually learned to type 90 words of minute, without errors, on a typewriter.” This skill eventually helped her, cutting down time when she had to slave over writing her various books. She said, “Accumulate skills and put them in your toolbox. You’ll never know when you’ll need them.”

4. Have people around you who are as good or better than you. Harriette says, “Everyone who works for you represents you.” So hire the best. In addition to attracting the best talent, Harriette says to, “Love the people you work for and with.”

5. Know there’s room for more than one. Women of color can get unnecessarily competitive, believing the myth that there’s only a few spaces at the top. Harriette encouraged everyone to not believe the hype–and help each other as much as they can.

An inspiring quote from Yo Gabba Gabba,  “Don’t Stop, don’t give up… Keep trying, don’t give up, never give up!”
I hoped this served as some form of motivation… Sometimes a break is what you need in order to help you get to the next level or goal.  As at times it allows you to step back and reevaluate the situation in hopes to make the best decisions for yourself.
Let’s connect,
Nikia Chanel
Share your two cents!

