The master of my universe!

Do it!

A wise woman once said, “Your thoughts create your actions.”  Well, actually she said it yesterday; but it really stuck.  We could all be further along in our lives than we are, most of us at least.  Many times we get in our own way, whether it’s due to fear, confidence or life setbacks; we allow these things to put a halt on our plans.   We need to dream, think and act instead of think and dream.  Dream about what happiness is to you, think about what you need to do in order to achieve it and then put a plan in place so you can act on it.  I feel my goals and dreams are so grande that I don’t have enough time to nurture each bullet point on the list in my mind.  Sometimes it all seems overwhelming and unattainable, yet they are somewhat simple.  Imagine my confusion and how easy it is to “forget” about your goals and dreams.   I’ve resolved to write everything out on paper or type it in my MAC book to be honest.   From there, I can really expand my goals and put my action steps in place.   Then I can give myself three weeks to a month to initiate and/or complete action steps in an effort to cross the task off of my list.  I just have to write it down.  I’m in charge of me, no one can stop me from being me and following my dreams.  Below are some helpful links focusing on all things goal related.   How have you resolved to accomplish your goals?

5 Reasons Why you Should Commit your Goals to Writing!

Personal Goal Setting

Oprah: Setting Goals

Vision Board

But aren’t there always two sides to a story? Some think setting goals may not be the best route.  How about an area of focus instead?  Here is a snippet for you, click the link to read the full article.

Consider Not Setting Goals in 2013 by Peter Bregman

Instead of identifying goals, consider identifying areas of focus.

A goal defines an outcome you want to achieve; an area of focus establishes activities you want to spend your time doing.  A goal is a result; an area of focus is a path.  A goal points to a future you intend to reach; an area of focus settles you into the present.

My two cents:  I will still set my goals, identify my areas of focus and write them down.  A road map to achieve my results, my blueprint.   Can’t we all just get along?  Big or small, go for it!

Let’s connect,

Nikia Chanel

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | LinkedIn
Share your two cents!

